#teamemily member number 4 – Superwoman walks among us

(Mom, you only come last because you’re the most important)

EEE_7641.jpg

This woman is my rock. I can’t even begin to explain my mental health struggles without mentioning she was there every single step of the way. Always pushing me to be better, but knowing when I need to slow down.

Who else hates Sundays? Well I sure do! Sundays always made me really anxious because of the impending doom that is Monday… and usually some assignments or work to get to.

So Mom, the brilliant, pro-active woman she is, created “Shake-Up Sundays”. Every Sunday we would make a point of getting out of the house and doing something, a look forward to. Sometimes we’d go for dinner, or a movie, or even the mall or a new store for a few hours. It was perfect.

Without her, I don’t know where I’d be. She has a pretty big no-bullshit filter so she didn’t stand for any of my crap. She pushed me to get through the darkest times and dragged me up if she had to. At the time I felt she was just always on my ass for something… but damnit, it worked.

She is my biggest advocate for doing something about the situations your in instead of wallowing in your troubles. If I was sad, then she’d ask what can we do to make me happy.  If I was happy, she’d ask what can we do to keep this going. When I felt like curling up in a ball on my bed she made me get up and DO something to make myself feel better. She always helped me to build my tool box of things that made me happy.

She’s a doer. Big time. And damn, it must take A LOT of her energy to always be positive and try to motivate another person who’s not willing to move. And she did this for years. She still does it and she will never ever stop. And for that I am eternally thankful.

It boggles my mind to see the strength she has. Superwoman really does live among us everyday, she’s my mom.

Leave a Reply

